Sudbury Living
Sudbury Living PDF Editions Sudbury Feature Publications Sudbury Living Weddings PDF Editions


Sudbury Living Magazine March 1, 2019 Our Town No Comments on 2019 COMMUNITY BUILDERS ANNOUNCED

For 16 great years, the Community Builders Awards of Excellence have celebrated and showcased the outstanding contributions of exceptional Greater Sudbury citizens. Awards were presented in nine categories tonight at the sold-out event hosted by Northern Life/ publisher, Abbas Homayed at the Caruso Club.


“Without question, its people who put the ‘great’ in Greater Sudbury,” said Homayed. “There are visionaries, leaders and doers among us with the tenacity and gumption to make a difference. This awards program was created to recognize the outstanding individuals who are building community through their efforts.”


Michael Atkins, president of Northern Life/, chaired the event.  “There are people who bring us together with the power of their determination, the goodness in their hearts and their ability to work hard and inspire us into action. They make us want to be better,” he said. “The purpose of this evening is not simply to identify extraordinary people, but to bring together like minded people who appreciate them. That is culture.”


Award Recipients:

Hall of Fame – The Foligno Family

Arts – Sudbury Arts Council

Economic Development – SCR Mining & Tunnelling

Education – Laura Falvo

Environment – reThink Green

Health Care – Luncheon of Hope

Sports and Recreation – Barry McCrory

Young Leader – Ryan Benoit

Legacy Award – Paulette Gagnon


Thank you to Sponsors:

Presented by: Northern Life/

Platinum Sponsor: Eastlink and Huntington University

Award Sponsors: Cambrian College, Komatsu Mining, Sudbury Theatre Centre, Greater Sudbury Chamber of Commerce, College Boreal, Ashley Homestore, Dynamic Insurance Brokers, Laurentian University, Towneplace Suites

Event Sponsors: Benefit Partners

Partners and Media Sponsors: Northern Ontario Business, and Sudbury Living Magazine Group


Thank you to this year’s judges:

Sharon Baiden, Chief Administrative Officer, Greater Sudbury Police Service; Sarah Woods, Conservation Sudbury; Don Chapman, veteran broadcaster; Chris Gavard, owner/operator The Cooperators Insurance/Gavard Financial; Kevin O’Connor, Vice President-Brand Manager RBC Dominion Securities; Lona Dabous, retired Rainbow District School Board principal; Lise Poratto-Mason, partner, Mason Poratto-Mason LLP; Nicole Gauthier, Public Health Professional.


Detailed winner profiles and photos will be posted online at Eastlink Channel 10 will broadcast the CBA  documentary March 10th at 8 pm, and again March 11, 18, 25 and April 1 at 8 pm.


Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Comments are closed.